Skip navigation

After I watched the movie Avatar I’ve encountered a great remark by Rich Johnson, regarding the movie’s ‘hilarious’ type choice on the poster. Yes! we’re talking about Windows’ default font ‘Papyrus’. It is a font that was probably designed to resemble the written text on papyrus by the scribes of the ‘ancient’ world.

When you think how much money they spent on such a movie, it is so ironic them to pick up one of the ‘cheapest’ looking font. The poster looks like they patched the font in the last minute just right before it went off to the printing house. If they wanted to go ‘expressive’ with their type choice, I would expect an original type (perhaps a custom font for a custom Avatar world?), just like the original Avatars and their fabulous land and its living creatures. The type I’ve been suggesting does not have to ‘look’ like an Avatar, perhaps, function like an Avatar’s physiological structure.

Make sure you visit Rich Johnson‘s post. There are plenty of great comments and pictures of Papyrus being used in miscellaneous ads.

P.S By the way, I’m blown away with the movie! Amazing creativity…

Onur-

3 Comments

    • berrinsun
    • Posted January 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm
    • Permalink

    I wish there was a way to understand who posted this post on this blog.

      • acemicaylak
      • Posted January 28, 2010 at 10:22 pm
      • Permalink

      Berrin, It seems that Onur posted this…
      :-)

        • berrinsun
        • Posted January 29, 2010 at 7:00 pm
        • Permalink

        Yes, but when I posted that he hadn’t wrote his name yet. Sensei added that and told me later. Btw, I don’t know who you are.. I think there should be a setting for different writers on a blog on wordpress..


Comments are closed.

